i just wanted to know the meanings of the complicated names of the Ubuntu releases, maybe it’s complicated for me, i’ve never heard such words before “intrepid , Jaunty , Ibex,….”

so i did some search to find them, and here are the meanings

first all the code names are composed of 2 words an adjective and an animal, both starting with the same character where releases are sorted alphabetically except the first two releases


Release 1 ( Ubuntu 4.10 Warty Warthog)

which means a type of swines covered with Pustule

which is an ugly looking swine :D, duno why did they name it so


Release 2 (Ubuntu 5.04 Hoary Hedgehog)

which is a gray hedgehog, it looks cute… i like it 🙂


Release 3 (Ubuntu 5.10 Breezy Badger)

a delighted badger, thanx God it’s delighted 😀


Release 4 (Ubuntu 6.06 LTS Dapper Drake)

a handsome male duck 😀

LTS is for  Long Term Support

where the support ended on july 2009


Release 5 (Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy Eft)

an excited eft, i duno what is the eft

but check the pic 😀


Release 6 (Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn)

an energetic antelop

starting to be cute 🙂


Release 7 (Ubuntu 7.10 Gusty Gibbon)

a noisy monkey 😀


Release 8 (Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Hardy Heron)

a brave heron “a bird”


Release 9 (Ubunut 8.10 Intrepid Ibex)

a fearless wild goat

that was my  introduction to Ubuntu family


Release 10 (Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope)

a cheerful Jackalope where the jackalope is a

legendary type of deer-rabbit

or a rabbit infected with some sort of virus

but anyway it looks veryyyy cute

(By Erik K Veland)

Release 11 (Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala)

its an active koala, this cute animal 🙂

Release 12 (Ubuntu 10.04 LTS Lucid Lynx)

it was announced in the Ubucon 2009

and it means a focusing Lynx

where the Lynx is this beautiful predator

it’s a predator but it’s very beautiful

Release 13 (Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat)

announced here on Mark Shuttleworth blog

It is an Independent mongoose

I liked the Lynx better 😀 😀

Release 14 (Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal)

announced here on Mark Shuttleworth blog

and it means a stylish, smart type of whales.

Release 15 (Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot)

announced here on Mark Shuttleworth blog

meaning a dreaming cat, I do love cats! 😀

Release 16 (Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin.)

announced here on Mark Shuttleworth blog

pretty descriptive name…

Release 17 (Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal)

That beautiful bird.

Release 18 (Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail)

announced here on Mark Shuttleworth blog



there is one word which I couldn’t get its meaning but i like it


Now I know what it means “the essence of being human”, Thanx Hernan 🙂